Defining Moments #SOL16 Day 3

 

sliceoflife

I had the opportunity to catch up with a friend over a cup of tea.  She is one of those friends you don’t need to see often but you can pick up right where you left off together.   During our conversation she told me about a moment she had at the age of 30 when she realized her current life path was not taking her down the road she had always envisioned for herself. She woke up with that nagging feeling and can remember clearly sitting by the river thinking it through later that day. It was that moment, that flip-the-switch moment, that changed everything for her. She had a difficult transition out of her current situation and into the life she was meant to have.  But she had the will to see it through because of that moment of clarity.

It made me think about the day I went for an interview at the school I have called home for the past 13 years.  I was single and went on the interview at the insistence of a good friend. I was comfortable and happy in my current position but I was also intrigued to learn more about this school.  As I drove over the bridge to the interview a message came through to me loud and clear: “This will be where you make your home.”

I look back on that moment now as a defining moment.  I love my school.  I have several colleagues who are true blue friends and I have strong connections to the community through the amazing families I’ve built relationships with along the way.  Eventually I married and had a child. Last year my husband and I moved to the town so that our son would have an opportunity to grow up in a small seaside community where he will feel safe and happy. It was probably months into moving here that I remembered the message I heard on the bridge 13 years ago.  I was in awe when I thought about how that message, that “prediction,” was now a reality.

I think we all have those flip-the-switch moments where something bigger than us is guiding us down the path meant to fulfill all that is within us.  I am so grateful for that.

3 thoughts on “Defining Moments #SOL16 Day 3”

  1. I don’t know about flipping the switch moments, but sometimes there’s a no turning back moment. You just have to continue forward and make the best life you can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

