A Surprise in the Mail #SOL16 Day 4

sliceoflife

I opened a card today while looking at the return address thinking, “I have no idea who this person is.” My dad recently passed away so cards have been coming in the mail over the past week.  When I opened the card and read the note I realized it was sent from an old high school friend.  This is a person I have not seen since my college days.  She now lives in Florida (based on the return address) and remembered how close my family was.

It is moments like this – moments of kindness and goodness – that make me realize how blessed I am for gestures like that one.  When a parent passes away it rocks your world. You gain some perspective and stop worrying about the little things.  You look deep within yourself and wonder what more you can do to make the world a better place while you’re still living on it.  And you slow down to be grateful for gestures like this one.  That card means so much.  It is an old friend remembering my family and letting me know how sorry she is for our loss.

I’m sure she found out through social media or a mutual friend.  The fact that she took the time to ask someone for my address, purchase a sympathy card, pop a stamp on, and drop it in the mail although we have not spoken in 20 years is a heartfelt gesture that made me feel that my father’s life was valued and our family’s loss was acknowledged.

5 thoughts on “A Surprise in the Mail #SOL16 Day 4”

  1. Melanie, I’m so sorry for the loss of your father. We lost my husband’s mother last April and it most definitely rocks your world when you lose a parent. Those simple gestures from friends mean so much. I’m glad to know you’re surrounded by such caring friends and family.

    Like

  2. Those moments always make me just pause and appreciate whatever or whoever sent me said moment. What a nice gesture to have fall in your lap when you probably needed it. Thoughts to you and your family during this time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

